Our Thanksgiving Feast

I should probably share our menu from Thanksgiving, although I’m starting to think I won’t have enough room in this post, lol. I will note that since our meal was a collaboration from several people, it was not all organic. In fact, only a few of our things were, sadly to say. However, everything was delicious and I feel good about it because I still managed to exercise the day after! It’s amazing what a little exercise will do to make you feel better about yourself…I thought after eating pie and stuff I’d feel super full- but not at all, which is good. So I’m going to share what we had and then a recipe for simple mashed potatoes.

Turkey (of course)
Ham
Organic mashed potatoes
Cheesy potato casserole
Organic squash
Paleo stuffing
Oyster Stuffing
Cornbread Stuffing
Citrus cranberry sauce
Simple cranberries
Croissants
Green beans
Brussel Sprouts
Organic broccoli salad

Dessert:
Cranberry pie
Apple pie
Peach cobbler
Chocolate cream pie
Organic gluten-free dairy-free pumpkin custard

That looks like a ton of food! It was…I mean it covered our entire kitchen and took about an hour to put away, lol. I was actually very glad there were some good protein sources and it wasn’t ALL starchy foods. The key to eating good during the holidays is making sure that besides some of your staple fun foods, you have really good sources of protein. Protein can help so much with your body’s calorie burn, your energy level, and just the general health of your body. I realize that with Christmas coming, there will be cookies and sugar aplenty. But I think, (and I’ll share more as it gets closer to Christmas) that our family is coming up with some good ways to keep the cookies and throw out the calories.
Btw, here’s a super simple recipe that I always use to make my “famous” mashed potatoes, haha. They’re “famous” because I always end up making them and I guess they’re pretty good šŸ˜‰
*This recipe uses all organic ingredients and this makes about enough for 2 servings per 7 people.

1 bag of potatoes (or about 8-10 medium sized potatoes)
1/3 stick of butter
1/2 cup of milk
Plenty of salt

Directions:
Wash and cut potatoes into chunks (they do NOT have to be perfect!). Throw into large sauce pan or Dutch oven, and cover with cold water. Turn onto medium heat and wait until they’re boiling. Once they start boiling it can be anywhere from 1/2 hour to 1 hour before they’re done- depending on your stove and the amount of potatoes you do. After they are soft, strain water out and begin adding other ingredients. Put in a little butter, add a little milk, add a little salt. Just continue mashing (using a potato masher is very helpful) until they are almost fluffy. You may have to add more milk, so just eye it- you want them to be “lumpless” (is that a word?) and fluffy. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

